Tags

,

My first introduction to my favorite author, Dean Koontz, was via a very disturbing movie based on his book, Demon Seed. In a nutshell, a scientist builds a self-aware super computer, which he hooks up to his house to manage the thermostat and other boring stuff, and the computer goes all demonic, takes over the house, and decides to get it on with the scientist’s wife. Probably because the computer/house was so bored. As a stay-at-home mom, I can kind of relate.

I think I was 7 or so when this movie was on Saturday afternoon TV. Remember when they used to play all kinds of inappropriate movies on Saturday afternoons in the 70’s and early 80’s? I remember seeing an uncensored Porky’s once, too, which probably scarred me for life. But I digress.

Anyway, the movie freaked me right out. So today when our bathroom light started pulsing like a heartbeat, the computer/house/rapist from Demon Seed jumped immediately to mind. I yelled at Edsel to stop siccing the house on me when I’m ovulating, because we can barely deal with the half-demon child we already have, but it turned out he was just using some high-power tool in the garage, and not actually trying to get me knocked up. Not by the house and/or demonic super computer, I mean – we’re still trying to get knocked up the regular way. So that’s a relief. Here’s a video clip of the heartbeat light.

house heartbeat?

